Dear Christy Clark

If we truly believe that kids matter and families come first, we’ll show that by making a fair deal.

t.p.r.s. q&a

Dear Christy Clark,

My name is Chris.  I teach at Tamanawis Secondary in Surrey.  I love my job, but I am angry.  Let me tell you why.

Some background: when I last worked in the private sector, in 1998, I worked for a forestry contractor and made $5,500 a month, working 12-hour days, and E.I. for a few months in the off-season. When I started teaching, I made $2,400 a month, working 12-hour days, and was laid off in the summer.

I didn’t become a teacher to get rich.  I became a teacher because I love kids and I love teaching.

Since 1998, the time I devote to voluntary activities to help kids and school– above and beyond what I am paid to do– has increased.  Same goes for my colleagues.  I run our school’s Gay/Straight Alliance and our Poetry Slam Club, I sit on Staff Committee, I train languages teachers in…

View original post 1,887 more words

Leave a Reply

